Luxurious Chardonnay from Twenty Mile Bench

Posted on April 8, 2008

0


Le Clos Jordanne is a partnership between Vincor Canada and Boisset France.  It is their first investment in non-Burgundian (from Burgundy, France) property.  Their initial releases gained critical acclaim.  Here are my tasting notes from their 05 single vineyard Chardonnay.  These are currently sold out of LCBO, but is available on the wine lists of many restaurants throughout Ontario, I thought it may be worthwhile to post my tasting notes!

2005 Le Clos Jordanne Chardonnay – Le Clos Jordanne Vineyard

colour: Light golden yellow – think butter bubbling in a saucepan
on the nose: Before I swirl it, I get a snootful of cream. After a swirl, I’m getting soft, round, luxurious ripe fresh apricots and a little banana layered under honey, toasted almonds and cream. There is also a floral note here I can’t quite identify. I’m loving this nose.
on the palate: Luxury is the continuing theme here – this is luscious. It has a heavy, silky mouthfeel. It starts with a hint of lemon peel, then flavours of honeyed apricots in cream. The acidity kicks in, lemon rind and a hint of grapefruit and then I realize there is some interesting minerality. The finish is back into creamy butterscotch flavours; honey, toasted almonds. I’m tasting this for a good 45 seconds after, and I’m left with a really pleasant mineral note, baguette crust and some pleasant fruity notes I can’t quite qualify.  89pts

Posted in: tasting notes