Pinot Noir from Niagara

Posted on April 11, 2008

2


Pinot Noir is definitely one of Niagara’s best offerings.  Our summers are hot enough, and our summer nights are cool, helping the grape both ripen and maintain acidity.  Malivoire Wine Co. is located on the Beamsville Bench. Their estate bottled Pinot Noir comes from a 9 year old block of clone 115.  2005 vintage in Niagara showed a cold winter/spring that severely reduced yield, and then a pretty hot summer which resulted in vines with extremely small and concentrated clusters of berries.  The resulting wine was aged for 12 months in a 60/40 mixture of new/old french oak.  Available only at the winery, check out my tasting notes below.

2005 Malivoire Estate Pinot Noir – $32 at the winery

This is a beautiful brilliant brick-red guarnet colour. It’s really striking.  On the nose I get strawberries, spicy cinnamon incense, black cherries and bell peppers, and some old vegetable funk.  It’s a great nose, and it takes me awhile to actually want to get into drinking the wine.  When I finally do I’m treated to a nice silky mouthfeel. Dark cherries, cracked pepper, black licorice (the real stuff!!) prevail on my palate.  The finish is medium-long with cherries, clove, cinnamon stick and pepper.  I originally thought this wasn’t great value, but after my trip to Oregon, I am reviewing all of my Ontario pinot tasting notes.  32 dollars is a great price for an 89pt PN.

Posted in: tasting notes