Old Vine Chardonnay from Niagara

Posted on April 17, 2008

0


2005 Hidden Bench Vieilles Vignes Chardonnay

$40 from the winery

I want to stick to sharing mostly to LCBO offerings which are widely available, but I get down to Niagara a few times a year to taste wines and I want to share.  Hidden Bench is one of those wineries you love to visit – beautiful big tasting room, great wines, beautiful people helping you.  Some friends and I recently spent a morning with Meg in the tasting room, and as much as I like their Terroir Cache Bordeaux-style blend, their chardonnays are fantastic.  The old vines chardonnay is from their Rosomel vineyard.  TNs below.  For 40 dollars, it’s getting up there. 

I took a quick pop and pour of this, and the oakiness was a little out of control so I decanted for about an hour.

colour: bright straw yellow
on the nose: grap-ee citrus aromas, with some tertiary floral notes I can’t quite qualify.
on the palate: elegant, polished attack blossoming into a well balanced fruit – green apple with unripe strawberries, dried cranberry and some lemon rind. The finish is long, carrying the fruity notes through with some good acidity balancing out the creamy vanilla oak tannins. Great mouthfeel.

This one definitely needs a little time to settle down, and will reward folks with patience.  At 40 bones, this isn’t the best value on the market, but it is well balanced, luxurious and full of fruit – just what you want from an oaked chardonnay!

Posted in: tasting notes