Affordable White Burg

Posted on April 18, 2008

0


MAISON CHAMPY PERNAND-VERGELESSES 2005
VINTAGES 8151 | 750 mL bottle
Price: $ 29.70

Another first for me, this was my first white burgundy.  From the Cote de Beaune, in Burgundy, France this represents decent value.  White burgundies are treasured by collectors, and prices are usually reflective.  This particular wine is situated at a nice price point.

Colour: straw gold
On the nose: The first thing I notice here is toast.  Crisp, well done golden brown all over toast.  Then comes some vanilla, a freshly sliced green pepper, lemon pith and poached pear.
On my palate: The toast follows through here, which is really interesting.  Lemon zest follows quickly, then some butterscotch, pear, green apples and poppy seed (maybe more toastyness returning?).  There’s a mineral note that I can’t quite define – I have to get into tasting minerals to figure this stuff out!! Decent finish, lots of butterscotch and poached pear.  Nicely balanced wine, and an affordable price for white burgundy!

Posted in: tasting notes