04 Barbaresco in the house

Posted on April 21, 2008

1


MARCHESI DI BAROLO BARBARESCO 2004
VINTAGES 60855 | 750 mL bottle
Price: $ 43.95

I’m on a major Nebbiolo kick (thanks Joe). Probably not the best thing to be posting to start a wine blog, since Nebbiolo is not always the most approachable grape.  When I stopped into the new Milton LCBO (by the GO train station) I couldn’t resist picking this one up, as I’ve heard 04 in Piedmont was a good year.

Dark chocolate, black tea, sour cherry and a hint of rose petal on the nose.  Think really, really good dark chocolate.

I take a drink, and I’m thinking some of the barolos I’ve had recently.  I love the structure here, great acidity and the tannins are grippy but sweet.  The aromas follow exactly through to flavour profile – tea first, sour cherry, some dark chocolate and coffee type flavours.  The finish is medium, with tea, sage, some chai kind of notes, sour cherry.  Love it.  Not as complex as a barolo but extremely enjoyable.  Balanced, structured, elegant.  Get to it people.

Posted in: tasting notes