2005 DePonte Cellars Dundee Hills Pinot Noir

Posted on May 27, 2008

0


While I try to stick to wines available to the general public in Ontario, this is one of the wines I brought back from Oregon earlier this year.  I had a hankerin’ for Oregon pinot last weekend, so I opened a bottle of this.  I still love it, although I think this wine is built for drinking by itself.  Good thing I have one more bottle in the cellar!

One the nose: dark cherry, cola, an interesting cardamom-ish aroma, and some floral notes – like violets!

In the mouth: cherry cola-ish, but not over the top.  Ripe, red cherry and vanilla, with some smokey oak spices.  There is a nice tannic structure here, firm but very forgiving and roundish.  Ripe flavours, nice balance.  Flavours follow through to the finish which is medium in length.  90pts.

Posted in: tasting notes