Wines for Easter

Posted on April 8, 2009

1


Easter is one of the holiest holidays of the year.  My family uses these times to bring the family together for a meal, some laughs and fun.  The typical family dinner over these holidays involve roasted turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, veggies, dressing and casseroles of some sort.  Pies and ice cream for dessert.  It’s my trainer’s worst nightmare.  Well, actually *my* worst nightmare – working out after an unrestrained holiday weekend reminds me I need to build more self-discipline.  If you run through the list of foods I listed above, and consider my first article on matching strength or weight of the wine you’ll have a hard time making a match.  What’s a wine lover to do?  Pick a great wine, skip the meal enjoy the wine.  Just kiddin.

In general I try to pick wines that will keep up with the most flavourful dishes of the meal.  The only real challenge is that some of the more delicate flavours may be lost.  For love of a great wine, I’m willing to make that sacrifice.  I bring a white wine and a red to these meals.  The white is either a riesling, a fruity chardonnay, or maybe even a sauv blanc.  Some sweetness, vibrant acidity, spice and weight to stand up to the meal.  For a red wine, I’m looking to zinfandel a merlot, maybe a warm climate pinot.  Big fruit, soft tannins and decent some peppery notes that work with the heartier dishes like roasted turkey or dressing.

Here are a few of my suggestions from each category, but get out there and give it a try yourself and enjoy some great wine with friends and family.  Let me know what you take home, and how it worked out with your meal!!

Above all, cherish the time you have with the people you love.  A votre sante!

Suggested Whites

BERNHARD MEHRLEIN RIESLING KABINETT FEINHERB 2007
VINTAGES 89581 | 750 mL bottle

CLOUDY BAY CHARDONNAY 2006
VINTAGES 359513 | 750 mL bottle

LE CLOS JORDANNE CLAYSTONE TERRACE CHARDONNAY 2006
VINTAGES 56929 | 750 mL bottle

Suggested Reds

MOUEIX MERLOT (V)
VINTAGES 961227 | 750 mL bottle

D’ARENBERG THE FERAL FOX PINOT NOIR 2006
VINTAGES 652891 | 750 mL bottle

Posted in: wine info