Feelin’ Rosy on Canada Day

Posted on July 1, 2009

0


The folks that read my posts regularly know that I am an equal opportunity quaffer.  Reds, whites, sparklers it really doesn’t matter to me.  All I ask is for an interesting wine with good structure, balance and complexity.  I don’t care what colour it is.  I had steak marinading to put on the bbq this afternoon, a tasty combination of Worcestershire, soy, olive oil, crushed peppercorns, whole grain dijon, brown sugar and Dr. Pepper.  I decided this would be a great opportunity to try pairing steak with pink wine from the Rhone.  Tavel AOC is across the Rhone from CdP.  Grenache and Cinsault are the main varietals at work in this region.  This particular wine is a blend of Bourboulenc, Clairette, Grenache, Syrah, Mouvedre, Cinsault and Picpoul.

CHÂTEAU D’AQUERIA TAVEL ROSÉ 2008
VINTAGES 712000 | 375 mL bottle

As I lift the beautiful bright pink liquid to my nose, I get a lot of pretty red fruit.  Strawberry is here, and so is raspberry.  I also get a hint of tropical fruit – some banana like I’ve just peeled a ripe banana and I’m smelling the peel – as well as some sweet herbs like basil.  There is a hint of pepper in the nose (thank you Syrah!) and a whiff of rose petal.  I leave the bouquet and decide to let my palate get some action.  Up front I taste essence of strawberry, like I just finished eating a strawberry and the essential flavour is still there.  I sense structure that was unexpected – great acidity and hint of tannin.  There is some minerality on the mid-palate, and I’m thinking about red flintstone vitamins when I was a kid, I get that same kind of flavour profile.  The finish is really unexpectedly long, dominated for me by the continued minerality and soft red fruit.

This is a beautiful wine for the summer – fresh and aromatic.  I’m thinking summer bbq in the sun, cellar temperature not chilled.  I originally had this wine in the fridge.  When I took it out and poured, the nose was very closed.  At just below room temperature the aromatics were all there and ready for me!  This wine cost me 12.95 at my local lcbo, I think it’s a great deal for a great summer wine.  Pick a bottle up, let me know if you agree!

Posted in: tasting notes